Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Eligibility

Applicants will be eligible for PMAY when all below conditions are met:

  1. The beneficiary family should not own a pucca house (an all-weather dwelling unit) either in his/ her name or in the name of any member of his/ her family in any part of India.
  2. The beneficiary family should not have availed of central assistance under any housing scheme from the Government of India/ State government.
  3. The beneficiary family should not have availed any PMAY – CLSS subsidy from any of the Primary Lending Institutions (‘PLI’).

PMAY Eligibility Criteria 2022 for Different Income Group

Economic Section

Annual Family Income

Maximum carpet area


Up to Rs. 3 Lakh

30 square meters


Rs. 3 Lakh to Rs. 6 Lakh

60 square meters


Rs. 6 Lakh to Rs. 12 Lakh

160 square meters


Rs. 12 Lakh to Rs. 18 Lakh

200 square meters

Here’s more you need to know

In addition to these criteria, these are the other requirements to note:

  • Only statutory towns, as per Census 2011, and towns notified subsequently are eligible for coverage under the scheme.
  • The construction/ extension for which the loan is availed must be completed within 36 months from the date of disbursement of the 1st instalment of the loan amount.
  • For LIG/ EWS category: The houses constructed/ acquired with central assistance under the mission should be in the name of the female head of the household or in the joint name of the male head of the household and his wife. Only in cases when there is no adult female member in the family, the house can be in the name of male member of the household.


The validity of the PMAY scheme has not been extended.

  • The EWS/ LIG schemes have been discontinued w.e.f. March 31, 2022
  • The MIG schemes (MIG I and MIG II) have been discontinued w.e.f. March 31, 2021