Preferred Language

Preferred Language

What is NDMC Property Tax?

NDMC Property Tax is a tax collected by the Delhi Municipal Corporation from anyone owning a property in North Delhi. NDMC house tax is applicable on residential, commercial, and industrial properties, and the rates may differ as per their purpose.

In general, this tax has to be paid:

  • If the property is sublet
  • If the property is self-occupied
  • When the property is let
  • If the property is co-owned

The tax can be paid either online or offline.

Steps to Pay NDMC Property Tax Online

The below steps explain how to pay property tax online.

  • Step 1: Visit NDMC’s official website

  • Step 2: Once redirected to another page, check the box against the terms and conditions

  • Step 3: Click on the button ‘File property tax’

  • Step 4: Click on ‘Online tax payer’; subsequently, click the button ‘Property ID has not been allotted’ before

  • Step 5: Once redirected to a new page, provide essential details and enter the property area

  • Step 6: Tick the declaration box and then click on the ‘Submit’ button

    You will receive a property ID on registered mobile number, with which you can proceed to file house tax in future.

    In case you have paid tax before, simply select the ‘Property ID’ tab and enter your ID.

  • Step 7: After being redirected to a new page, provide essential property details to compute payable taxes

  • Step 8: Click on the ‘Submit’ button and proceed to pay the applicable taxes

  • Step 9: After completing the NDMC property tax payment, click on the ‘Generate Challan’ button

Download the challan in PDF format for future references.

Individuals can also file their property taxes offline. Visit an ITZ cash counter in North Delhi to initiate the offline process and related formalities. Pay the taxes via cheque, cash or credit, or debit card.

You can check the payment status on NDMC’s official website. Enter the property details on the website to initiate the process.

NDMC Area List

The North Delhi Municipal Corporation Property Tax has categorised North Delhi into 7 zones, further divided into wards and colonies. Below is the NDMC area list in a tabular format.

Zone Ward Colony
Civil Lines Burari

Kamal Pur

Timar Pur

Adarsh Nagar

Santi Nagar

Mukund Pur

G.T.B. Nagar

Mukherjee Nagar


Nathu Colony

Saroop Vihar

Yograj Colony

Burari Extn. Colony


City SP Zone Ajmeri Gate

Chandni Chowk

Delhi Gate Lines

Delhi Gate


Ram Nagar

Shastri Nagar
Khush Dil

Meena Bazar

Chandrawal Village

Baradari Jama Masjid

Rohini Budh Vihar


Vijay Vihar








Nai Basti

Rohini Sector – 10

Rohini Sector-1,

Rohini Sector – 5, 6, 11 and 12

Budh Vihar

Ram Nagar

Shiv Colony

Nangloi Village

Karol Bagh Naraina


Kirti Nagar

Ramesh Nagar

Rajinder Nagar

West Patel Nagar

Pahar Ganj Karol Bagh

Arya Naga

Pahar Ganj

Ram Nagar

SBM Colony

Shora Kothi

Ramesh Nagar

Punjab Garden

Chuna Mandi

Kucha Tiku Sah
Narela Alipur



Rani Khera



Rohini Sector – 31

Rohini Sector - 27

Rohini Sector – 33

Rohini Sector - 28

Rohini Sector – 32

Rohini Sector – 30

Rohini Sector – 29
Keshav Puram Pitampura

Kohat Enclave

Kamla Nagar

Model Town

Paschim Vihar

Rani Bagh

Sangam Park

Vishakha Enclave

Maurya Enclave

Shalimar Bagh

Rishi Nagar Apna Ghar Appt.


NDMC Property Tax Calculation

NDMC follows the Unit Area System to calculate property taxes.

The formula used to compute the tax is:

Property tax = Annual value x Rate of tax


Annual value = Unit area value per square metre x Age factor x Unit area of property x Structure factor x Use factor x Occupancy factor

Note that for vacant land, the annual value is computed with the following formula:

Annual value = Unit area value per square metre x Use factor x Area of vacant land x Occupancy factor x 0.3

Example: An individual purchases a pucca house property of 200 square metres in Chandni Chowk, constructed in 2005 for self-occupation. His/her property tax will amount to:

Unit area value in Chandni Chowk (category E) = Rs.270 per square metre

Unit area = 200 square meter

Age factor = 1.0 (for properties 2000 onwards)

Use factor = 1.0

Structure factor = 1.0

Occupancy factor = 1.0

As per formula,

Annual value = 200x270x1.0x1.0x1.0x1.0 = Rs.1,08,000

Property value = Annual value x Rate of tax (for category E)

                       = 54,000 x 11

                       = Rs.5,94,000

NDMC Property Tax Due Date and Rebate

Every year, property owners in Delhi have to pay the total property taxes in a lump sum by 30th June. As a property owner, you should note that a 30% rebate is applicable on net tax in senior citizens, women, and disabled individuals. However, if the NDMC house tax is paid in a single instalment in the first quarter of the year, a 15% rebate is made available to all property taxpayers. Pay the property tax on time to ensure that the property is free from dispute and can be easily mortgaged to avail high-value loans against property.

Frequently Asked Questions

What Properties Are Exempted from Paying NDMC Property Tax?

The below properties are exempted from paying NDMC property tax.

  • Agricultural land that does not include dwelling areas

  • Property owned by gallantry award winner, bravery award winner, war widow, and armed personnel rendered 76–100% disabled

  • Property used for charitable purposes, public burial/cremation grounds, or public worship

  • Lands and buildings vested to Council

How to Initiate NDMC Property Tax Registration?

Follow the below steps to start the registration process.

  • Step 1: Visit the official website of NDMC
  • Step 2: Click on the ‘Sign Up’ button
  • Step 3: Click on the ‘New User Click Here for Sign Up/Registration’ button
  • Step 4: Enter required personal and contact details
  • Step 5: Click on ‘Get OTP’ button
  • Step 6: Enter OTP to verify details
  • Step 7: Click on the ‘Submit’ button

Did you know, a good CIBIL score can help you get a better deal on loans and credit cards?