An overview of RGRHCL

2 min read

To provide affordable homes to the residents of India, especially the economically weaker section - both the central and state government have launched several housing schemes and regulating bodies like RGRHCL.

Just like any other housing scheme, to become a beneficiary of the programs under RGRHCL, individuals need to meet certain clauses and requirements. Having an idea about the process involved to become a beneficiary helps streamline the process.

What is RGRHCL?

The Rajiv Gandhi Rural Housing Corporation Limited, or RGRHCL, serves to provide affordable housing to EWS in Karnataka. The concerned authority was launched in 2000, and it creates a list of eligible households that could benefit from this housing scheme. Notably, the RGRCHL new list of beneficiaries is approved by the concerned gram sabha.

This body assists beneficiaries who wish to construct a house. The concerned authority provides aid through Nirmithi Kendras to construct homes using cost-effective technologies.

RGRHCL-housing schemes

These housing schemes come under RGRHCL:

  • Basava Housing Scheme
    This scheme provides housing to homeless beneficiaries who live in rural areas. This scheme offers qualifying applicants up to 85% of raw materials to construct their homes.
  • Devaraj URS Housing Scheme
    Individuals belonging to this special category can avail assistance under this housing scheme. Generally, applicants belonging to these categories can become a beneficiary of this scheme
  • Physically disabled
  • HIV-affected households
  • Leprosy cured
  • Sanitation workers
  • Nomadic tribes
  • Free bonded labourers
  • Windows
  • Transgendered individuals
  • Those affected by riots

The District Committee selects the beneficiaries of this scheme.

  • Dr BR Ambedkar Nivas Yojana
    Dr BR Ambedkar Nivas Yojana is concerned with providing houses to homeless population belonging to rural and urban areas. Under this scheme, the eligible applicants belonging to the Schedule Caste and Schedule Tribe categories are qualified to receive Rs. 1.75 lakh as a subsidy to buy or build a home.

What is Ashraya?

Ashraya is RGRHCL’s official online portal that was launched to simplify applications for affordable housing schemes for residents of Karnataka.

Through this portal, individuals can easily fill up the application form of any housing scheme under RGRHCL. They can also check the RGRHCL status of their application alongside the beneficiary list on this web portal.

This portal also provides information about the current and upcoming housing schemes. One can easily access data about the number of completed houses and land availability for new schemes on the Ashraya portal.

Regardless, to streamline all the processes of RGRHCL, residents of Karnataka should find out all steps involved beforehand. This will minimise confusion and help initiate and complete the Ashraya Yojana processes in no time.

Objectives of the Basava Vasati Yojana

Basava Vasati Yojana is a housing program launched by the Karnataka government that aims to provide affordable homes to the state’s EWS or economically weaker section.

This initiative’s primary objective is elucidated below:

  • Extend affordable homes to EWS throughout Karnataka.
  • Promote transparency and efficiency in the affordable housing sector and management.
  • Facilitate cost-effective construction techniques in rural areas by strengthening Nirmithi Kendras and other units.

Basava Vasati Yojana beneficiaries

Those wishing to become a beneficiary of Basava Vasati Yojana affordable housing scheme need to be able to meet the following eligibility criteria.

  • Applicants should be a citizen of Karnataka.
  • Applicants’ annual income must not exceed Rs. 32,000.

Besides these basic criteria, they need to submit a few documents to become a beneficiary of this scheme. Such documents include – proof of age, income, and address, Aadhaar card, and passport size photo.

Process to apply for Basava Vasati Yojana

Individuals can initiate the Basava Vasati Yojana application process online in just a few simple steps. The same are elucidated below

Step 1 - Visit RGRHCL’s official website.

Step 2 - Navigate to the application link and click on it.

Step 3 - You will be redirected to the application form page.

Step 4 - Provide essential details like the applicant’s name, date of birth, gender, contact information, income details, district, village, etc., to fill-up the form.

Step 5 - Scan and upload the required set of documents, including – Aadhaar card, income certificate, etc.

Step 6 - Verify the details and click on the ‘Submit’ button.

Once these steps are completed, a reference ID will be generated. You can use it to check Basava Vasati’s application status. Note that the beneficiary is selected either by the local MLA or by the Gram Panchayat officer.

How to check Basava Vasati Yojana beneficiary status?

Check the Basava Vasati Yojana beneficiary status list by following these steps

Step 1 - Visit RGRHCL’s official portal.

Step 2 - Navigate to the top menu and click on ‘Beneficiary Information’.

Step 3 - Select district and acknowledgement number on being redirected to a new page.

After these steps are complete, Basava Vasati Yojana status and beneficiary list will appear on screen.

Besides these, one can also check the details related to the grant release on Ashraya in no time. They would simply have to visit the portal and enter the name of their area. Subsequently, they would have to navigate to ‘Grant Release’ details, select the year, week, and reference number to access the RGRHCL information.

To make it easy for you to get closer to your dream house, apply to Bajaj Finserv for a home loan up to Rs. 15 crore*, basis eligibility at a low home loan interest rate with flexible tenor up to 30 years. Minimum documentation required with instant approval.

Read More Read Less