The two smartphones share several core features, including 5G connectivity, 6.7-inch curved displays, 50MP primary cameras, and up to 12GB RAM. Their processors, cameras, charging systems, connectivity, and storage options create the main differences.
What are the general specifications?
The motorola edge 50 pro 5G runs Android 14 with Hello UI and offers 3 years of OS updates. The realme 13 Pro+ 5G runs Android 14 with realme UI 5.0 and offers 2 years of OS updates.
| Component | motorola edge 50 pro 5G | realme 13 Pro+ 5G | What it means |
|---|
| Model | edge 50 pro 5G | 13 Pro+ 5G | — |
| Brand | motorola | realme | — |
| Launch date | April 9, 2024 | July 30, 2024 | — |
| Operating system | Android 14 | Android 14 | The base software platform both phones run on |
| Custom UI | Hello UI | realme UI 5.0 | The brand-specific layer added on top of Android |
| OS updates | 3 years | 2 years | The motorola receives one additional year of major software updates |
| Security updates | 4 years | 3 years | The motorola receives one additional year of security patches |
| SIM | Dual Nano SIM | Dual Nano SIM | Both support two active SIM cards simultaneously |
| Network support | 5G, 4G | 5G, 4G | Both are ready for current and future mobile networks |
| Dimensions | 161.23 x 72.4 x 8.19 mm | 161.34 x 73.91 x 8.23 mm | The motorola is narrower — slightly easier to hold one-handed |
| Weight | 186g | 190g | Both are similar in weight; the motorola is marginally lighter |
| Warranty | 1 year on handset | 1 year on handset | Standard manufacturer warranty on both |
Also check: AI Smartphones
What are the display and design specifications?
Both phones use 6.7-inch curved OLED displays with punch-hole designs. The motorola model has a higher 144Hz refresh rate, while the realme model offers 2160Hz PWM dimming and Gorilla Glass 7i protection.
| Component | motorola edge 50 pro 5G | realme 13 Pro+ 5G | What it means |
|---|
| Display type | P-OLED, curved | OLED, curved | Both produce deep blacks and vivid colour with curved edges reducing bezel visibility |
| Screen size | 6.7-inch | 6.7-inch | Both provide the same large viewing area |
| Screen resolution | 1220 x 2712 pixels | 1080 x 2412 pixels | The motorola has a sharper, higher-resolution display |
| Aspect ratio | 20:9 | 20.1:9 | Near-identical proportions for video and content |
| Pixel density | 446 ppi | 394 ppi | The motorola's higher pixel density gives noticeably sharper text and images |
| Refresh rate | 144Hz | 120Hz | The motorola's higher refresh rate makes scrolling and motion appear smoother |
| Touch sampling rate | 360Hz | 240Hz | The motorola's higher touch sampling helps the screen register input faster |
| Peak brightness | 2,000 nits | 2,000 nits | Both reach the same peak brightness for outdoor visibility |
| HBM brightness | Not specified | 1,200 nits | The realme specifies a sustained high brightness mode figure |
| PWM dimming | Not specified | 2160Hz | Higher PWM dimming on the realme reduces flicker, which can ease eye strain at low brightness |
| Screen protection | Corning Gorilla Glass | Corning Gorilla Glass 7i | Gorilla Glass 7i on the realme offers stronger drop and scratch resistance |
| HDR | HDR10+ | HDR10+ | Both support enhanced contrast and colour on compatible streaming content |
| Screen-to-body ratio | 90.75% (claimed) | 93% (claimed) | Both offer high screen-to-body ratios; figures are brand-claimed |
| Display design | Bezel-less, punch-hole | Bezel-less, punch-hole | Both use a small camera cutout rather than a notch |
| Water resistance | IP68 | IP65 | The motorola's IP68 rating allows deeper, longer water immersion than the realme's IP65 |
| Build | Silicone vegan leather back | Mineral glass or vegan leather back | Both offer premium back options; the realme also offers a mineral glass variant |
Also check: Curved Display Mobile Phones
What are the performance and software specifications?
The motorola edge 50 pro 5G uses Snapdragon 7 Gen 3 with Adreno 720 graphics, while the realme 13 Pro+ 5G uses Snapdragon 7s Gen 2 with Adreno 710 graphics.
| Component | motorola edge 50 pro 5G | realme 13 Pro+ 5G | What it means |
|---|
| Processor | Qualcomm Snapdragon 7 Gen 3 | Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 2 | The motorola uses the newer, higher-tier chipset |
| CPU | Octa-core | Octa-core | Both distribute workloads across eight cores |
| CPU configuration | 2.63GHz single + 2.4GHz tri-core + 1.8GHz quad-core | 2.4GHz quad-core + 1.95GHz quad-core | The motorola's faster prime core allows quicker single-task execution |
| CPU architecture | 64-bit | 64-bit | Both run current 64-bit apps and software |
| Fabrication | 4nm | 4nm | Same manufacturing process — both are power-efficient |
| GPU | Adreno 720 | Adreno 710 | The motorola's newer GPU handles graphics and gaming workloads better |
| RAM | 8GB / 12GB | 8GB / 12GB | Both offer the same RAM options for everyday and heavy multitasking |
| RAM type | LPDDR4X | LPDDR4X | Same efficient mobile memory standard on both |
| AnTuTu score | 827,231 | 617,481 | The motorola scores significantly higher in combined benchmark performance |
| Cooling | Not specified | Vapor chamber | The realme's vapor chamber cooling manages heat better during sustained gaming |
| Internal storage | 256GB | 256GB / 512GB | The realme offers a 512GB option for users who need more built-in space |
| Storage type | UFS 2.2 | UFS 3.1 | The realme's faster storage means quicker app loading and file transfers |
| Expandable storage | No | No | Neither phone supports a memory card |
| Fingerprint sensor | Optical, on-screen | Optical, on-screen | Both allow biometric unlocking without a physical button |
| Speakers | Stereo speakers | Stereo speakers | Both deliver audio from two channels |
| Audio features | Dolby Atmos | OReality Audio, Hi-Res Audio | Different spatial audio implementations; both support enhanced audio on compatible content |
| Audio port | USB Type-C | USB Type-C | Both use the current standard connector for wired audio |
Also check: Qualcomm Snapdragon Processor Phones
What camera features do they offer?
Both smartphones use 50MP primary cameras and 50MP telephoto hardware. The motorola model has a 50MP front camera with autofocus, while the realme model has a 32MP front camera.
| Component | motorola edge 50 pro 5G | realme 13 Pro+ 5G | What it means |
|---|
| Rear camera setup | 50MP + 13MP + 10MP | 50MP + 8MP + 50MP | Both are triple-camera systems; the realme's telephoto is significantly higher-resolution |
| Primary camera | 50MP, f/1.4, 1/1.3-inch, 2.0µm | 50MP, f/1.88, 1/1.56-inch, Sony LYT-701 | The motorola's wider f/1.4 aperture and larger sensor capture more light in low light |
| Ultra-wide camera | 13MP, f/2.2 | 8MP, f/2.2 | The motorola's 13MP ultra-wide captures more detail than the realme's 8MP |
| Telephoto camera | 10MP, f/2.0 | 50MP periscope, f/2.65, Sony LYT-600 | The realme's 50MP periscope telephoto delivers significantly more detail at zoom distances |
| Optical zoom | Up to 3x | Up to 3x | Both offer the same optical zoom reach |
| Digital zoom | Up to 10x | Up to 120x | The realme supports much longer digital zoom reach |
| OIS | Yes | Yes | Both reduce blur from hand movement on the main and telephoto cameras |
| Autofocus | Laser autofocus and omnidirectional PDAF | Yes | The motorola adds laser autofocus for faster, more accurate focusing |
| Flash | LED flash | LED flash | Both include LED flash for low-light photography |
| Front camera | 50MP, f/1.9 | 32MP, f/2.45 | The motorola has a higher-resolution, wider-aperture front camera |
| Front autofocus | Quad Pixel autofocus | Fixed focus | The motorola's front camera autofocus gives sharper selfies at varied distances |
| Rear video | 4K at 30fps, Full HD at 60fps | 4K at 30fps, Full HD at 60fps, HD at 240fps | The realme adds 240fps slow-motion at HD resolution |
| Front video | 4K at 30fps, Full HD at 30fps | 4K at 30fps, Full HD at 30fps | Both support 4K front video recording |
Also check: Camera Phones under 15000
What storage and connectivity features do they have?
Both phones support dual SIM, 5G, 4G, Wi-Fi, and USB Type-C. The motorola model adds Wi-Fi 6E and NFC, while the realme model uses Wi-Fi 6 and does not include NFC.
| Component | motorola edge 50 pro 5G | realme 13 Pro+ 5G | What it means |
|---|
| SIM | Dual Nano SIM | Dual Nano SIM | Both support two active SIM cards simultaneously |
| Network support | 5G, 4G | 5G, 4G | Both are ready for current and future mobile networks |
| VoLTE | Yes | Yes | Both support high-quality voice calls over 4G and 5G |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6E, 5GHz and 6GHz | Wi-Fi 6, 2.4GHz and 5GHz | The motorola's Wi-Fi 6E adds 6GHz band support for faster speeds on compatible routers |
| Bluetooth | 5.4 | 5.2 | The motorola supports the newer Bluetooth version for more stable accessory connections |
| NFC | Yes | No | The motorola supports contactless payments; the realme does not |
| GPS | A-GPS, GLONASS | GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, QZSS | The realme supports more satellite systems for better location accuracy |
| USB port | USB Type-C | USB Type-C | Both use the current standard connector |
| Storage | 256GB | 256GB / 512GB | The realme offers a 512GB option |
| Storage type | UFS 2.2 | UFS 3.1 | UFS 3.1 on the realme provides faster app loading and file transfers |
| Expandable storage | No | No | Neither phone supports a memory card |
Also check: Upcoming 5G Mobile Phones
What battery and other features do they include?
The realme 13 Pro+ 5G has a larger 5,200 mAh battery, while the motorola edge 50 pro 5G supports considerably faster 125W wired charging and also adds wireless and reverse wireless charging.
| Component | motorola edge 50 pro 5G | realme 13 Pro+ 5G | What it means |
|---|
| Battery capacity | 4,500 mAh | 5,200 mAh | The realme's larger battery provides more reserve for extended daily use |
| Battery type | Li-Polymer | Li-Polymer | Both use standard Li-Polymer cells |
| Quick charging | 125W TurboPower, 100% in 18 minutes | 80W SUPERVOOC, 50% in 19 minutes | The motorola charges far faster — a full charge in under 20 minutes |
| Wireless charging | 50W | No | Only the motorola supports wireless charging |
| Reverse charging | 10W wireless reverse charging | Not specified | The motorola can wirelessly charge compatible accessories |
| Battery life | 12h 30m PCMark | 11h 34m PCMark | The motorola lasts longer in PCMark testing despite the smaller battery |
| Charging time | 18 minutes to 100% | 39 minutes from 20% to 100% | The motorola's charging speed advantage is significant |
| Water resistance | IP68 | IP65 | The motorola offers deeper, longer water resistance |
| Fingerprint sensor | Optical, on-screen | Optical, on-screen | Both allow biometric unlocking without a physical button |
| Other sensors | Light, proximity, accelerometer, compass, gyroscope | Geomagnetic, light, proximity, accelerometer, gyroscope | Both cover standard smartphone sensor sets |
Also check: Best Phones With 7000 mAh Battery